top of page

The one where I convince you to ditch your bra

4 and a half years ago I made the BEST decision I've ever made - I stopped wearing bras!


Now I want to start off by letting you in on a little secret...


Wearing a bra is a choice. Not a rule.


If you're wearing a bra please be doing it because YOU want to, because YOU feel more comfortable wearing one, and not because society has made you believe you need to.


When I first stopped wearing them I did used to get told "but you can see your nipples".


That really used to annoy me, still does actually. Because you can't.


Depending on the top and whether it's a bit nippy outside (no pun intended) you can only see the outline of my nipples.


So if men suddenly can't control themselves or old women get offended by the outline of nipples then I'd say that's a problem they need to sort through themselves - maybe on a therapist's couch.


I ditched my bras for many reasons, but today I'm going to stick to sharing the 4 that I think every person with breasts can get on board with.


4 Reasons Why Ditching The Bra Was The Best Decision I Ever Made


1. The Comfort


In my opinion, there really isn't anything comfortable about wearing a bra. Which is proven every time we take one off and fling it across the room at the end of a very long day. You know what I'm talking about; that sense of relief you feel when you no longer have wires and straps cutting through your skin.


You see this feeling...




















I feel that ALL the time. Freedom. No Pain. Complete and utter comfort.


2. The Health Benefits


Yes, there is absolutely health benefits to going au naturale!


A 15 year long study, conducted by Jean-Denis Rouillon, Professor at the University of Besancon, France, has proven that the bra is a false necessity.


According to the study, "Medically, physiologically, anatomically - breasts gain no benefit from being denied gravity. On the contrary, they get saggier with a bra."


Essentially it's a vicious never-ending cycle. We wear bras as "support", not knowing that it's actually weakening the muscles and making our boobs droop, which results in us thinking that a bra is necessary in order to support our girls.


If that isn't enough, as well as improving your blood circulation, going bra-free can also improve the health of your skin. By not wearing a bra, you're no longer trapping sweat and dirt against your skin.


I mean surely the health benefits alone are reason enough to rethink bras altogether.


3. The Cost


We all know that bras, even high quality ones, tend to have a short shelf life, which is fucking unacceptable considering how ridiculously overpriced they are.


I personally have small-boob privilege, so finding a bra that fits in a cheaper store like Primark is easy for me. But not everyone is that lucky. For those over a certain cup size it's impossible to find a bra in shops that don't charge a fortune.


Which just proves my point yet again - bras are being sold at luxury prices, reinforcing the fact that they're a luxury, not a necessity.


4. The Confidence Boost


I used to hate my small boobs as a teenager.


I was under the illusion that no boy would ever like me because they were small.


Dumb right?


But as many of us small-boobed gals do, I became best friends with extreme-padded push-up bras.


Wearing them made my insecure mind think I suddenly looked like a "real" woman. Little did I know that ditching the bra would have actually forced my pectoral muscles to work, resisting gravity and would have helped to boost my chest. Although my breasts wouldn't have grown, they would have appeared fuller as a whole.


And they are facts that I can totally back! After 4.5 years of going au naturel, my boobs are fuller, perkier, and rounder. I seem to be living proof that going bra-free has a positive long-term effect on the health, shape and quality of your breasts.


Ditching my bras is truly the best decision I have ever made for my self-confidence.


It became a gateway for my own self love and my own body positivity. I feel more sexier, more comfortable, and more confident than ever before.


I love my breasts and I feel empowered because of that - it's as simple as that.


. . .


If you're continuing to wear bras purely because you haven't got "perfect" boobs, then let me assure you now that all breasts are perfect, beautiful and completely normal. They come in all shapes and sizes, so you and every other person with breasts deserves to ditch your bras if you want to!


Whether you end up ditching your bra or not, make sure it's a conscious decision, because we're living in an era of increasing body positivity and decisions about your body should be made by you, for you.



Bras - yay or nay?


With love, Han


xo



Bra or not, make sure you're looking after your girls! Our boob prints act as perfect daily reminders to check your breasts;






£8.00















£8.00

1 view

Recent Posts

See All

Hey angel, thanks for stopping by!

If you liked this post and don't want to miss any others, simply subscribe to our mailing list below. You'll also receive a discount code to spend in my shop.

Let the posts
come to you.

Thanks for submitting!

bottom of page